BBQ & Old Bike Ride, 25 Oct

The weather gods smiled on our Club yet again with a mild start to the day and sunshine throughout.
The group gathered at Sugarloaf Reservoir for a short 70km ride designed for older bikes, followed by a BBQ and award presentation.
Prior to the ride, a briefing was given by Paul and the usual instructions provided for a group ride.

The riders left Sugarloaf and headed back towards Kangaroo Ground and Warrandyte. Being a sunny Sunday, there were lots of cars on the road and it didn’t take long for the group to become separated. But that was OK because the corner marking system ensured easy to identify turns. That was, until we got to Yarra Glen when things took a turn for the worst…… (Get it?) “Turn for the worst”.

Half way between Yarra Glen and Healesville, I sat on a corner for nearly 20 minutes until two riders, who had been previous corner markers, pulled up and suggested that we had lost the rest of the group. A quick phone call to Paul, who was already back at the Reservoir eating sausages and I was given permission to abandon my post. Otherwise I would still be there.
Luckily, I knew my way back and picked up my son who was waiting at the next corner, and we made our way back.

Fortunately, there were some sausages left, which we ate while we watched the last of the riders slowly straggle their way back. Followed by TEC Ian (Angus) with the trailer and one bike that had needed a rest.

Once everyone was back and re-grouped Snads had a few carefully chosen words to say regarding the group’s inability to follow simple directions. He then went on to give some presentations for the day’s attendees:

  • The Oldest Bike, won by a 1935 Indian Chief, ridden Kay Murphy.
  • Best single, won by a 1951 AJS 18S, ridden by Warren Blandy.
  • Best twin, won by a 1960 Matchless G12, ridden by Ian Bryant.
  • Best triple, won by a 1975 Kawasaki H1 500, ridden by Gary Moore.

Too bad for those of us that had four cylinders. Wally suggested we should have pulled a plug lead off.

But not winning a prize is better than winning one and then losing it. Prize winners had the option to choose a bottle of red or white wine, poor Warren stowed his prize bottle in his jacket, only to see it slide through and smashed on the ground.

It was great to see so many new faces and some family members riding bikes today. My son Tom came along, as well as Paul’s son Jerome and Phil’s daughter Bonnie . My son-in-law Luke tagged along too, with my daughter Katrina as a pillion.

The club needs more young blood to supersede us oldies and keep Jimmy company when we are all gone.

It was a very successful day, and despite the “minor” hiccup with corners, was as well organised as we have come to expect for club events.

I’m already looking forward to next year’s BBQ.

Ride Participants

Rider Bike Year
Kay Murphy Indian Chief 1935
Connor Murphy Indian Chief 1944
Ian Snadden Ariel Red Hunter 1946
Keith McCracken BSA A7 1949
Rob King AJS 16M 1950
Phil Pilgrim Vincent Comet 500 1951
Warren Blandy AJS 18S 1951
Paul Clayton Matchless G80S 1952 (Ride Leader)
Mark Hine BSA Road Rocket 1955
Alan Kelly Velocette M55 1955
Dennis Johnson Matchless G80 1959
Ian Bryant Matchless G12 1960 (TEC)
Ross Dickson Norton 650SS 1965
Gary McDonald BSA Spitfire 1968
Jimmy Linton Triumph Bonnie T120R 1970
Steve Inman Honda CB750 1972
Arthur Hampson YamahaTX750 1973
Paul Woods Triumph T140 1973
Wally Walsh Kawasaki Z1A 1974
Gary Moore Kawasaki H1500 1975
Phil Young Suzuki GS1000G 1980
Graham & Lynne Boulter Honda CB900F 1981
Robert van Lohuizen Suzuki GS850G 1983
Tom Inman Harley Davidson Softail 1987
John Addy Triumph Thunderbird 1995
Richard Mason Suzuki DR650 2006
Bonnie Pilgrim Honda CB400 Super 4 2009
Paul White Honda VFR 2011
Richard Haughton Kawasaki W800 2012
Michael Thompson Triumph America 2012
Gary McKechnie Triumph Tiger 2015
Terry Hoare Triumph Thruxton 2017
Jerome White Triumph T100 2018
John & Vicki Best Suzuki SV650 2021
Ian ‘Angus’ Young Back-up Trailer